Winners announced at Cotswolds annual dry stone walling competition

Twenty one dry stone wallers from across the region took part in this year's annual Cotswolds Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) Open Dry Stone Walling Competition held yesterday and organised by the Cotswolds Conservation Board along with the Cotswold branch of the Dry Stone Walling Association.

Four classes of competitors - beginner pairs, novice, amateur and professional – battled it out for the prestigious walling trophy and up to £120 cash prize under the expert eye of Master Craftsmen judges, John Day and Bill Noble, from the Dry Stone Walling Association (DSWA) of Great Britain.
The winners were announced as follows:
Professional: 1st: Alistair Bidmead from Minchinhampton; 2nd: Matt Beavis from Minchinhampton; 3rd: Chris Ingles from Mickleton; 4th: Luke Hodges from Evesham.
Amateur: 1st: Andy Deller from Chipping Norton; 2nd: Danny Sullivan from Evesham; 3rd: John Holt from Mepal, Cambridgeshire.
Novice: 1st: Phillip Sexton from Pebworth, Warwickshire; 2nd; Jeremy Phillips from Cirencester.
Beginner Pairs: 1st: Robin Dale & Shirley Williams, Bourton-on-the-Hill; 2nd: Arthur & Robin Witchell from Tetbury; 3rd: Julia Thomas & Tristan Bund from Tetsworth, Oxfordshire.
Competition organiser, Land Management Officer at the Cotswolds Conservation Board, Mark Connelly said: "Our annual dry stone walling competition always attracts a lot of interest and this year the standard was once again very high. We were delighted with the level of interest shown by both participants and spectators."
PHOTO ATTACHED: Dry Stone Winners: from left to right: Robin Dale, Shirley Williams, Phillip Sexton, Andy Deller and Alistair Bidmead.